[Skip to Content]

Ohio Credit Union League
Leadership Recognition Program

Ohio's Leadership Recognition Program is designed to encourage and recognize distinguished credit unions and individuals demonstrating amazing leadership, advocacy, outreach, financial education, and member service. 

Individual Leadership Nominations
In addition to the awards above, the Ohio Credit Union League annually awards Ohio credit union leadership award designations available for peer nomination. An individual must be nominated by an Ohio Credit Union League-affiliated credit union and endorsed by two other League-affiliated credit unions from throughout Ohio. Only one award in each category will be given annually and is limited to one per credit union. Multiple-person entries will not be considered. Recipients will be recognized at the upcoming League Annual Convention and allotted 3-5 minutes to address their peer audience on the main stage. Entries are due Feb. 10, 2023, to be reviewed by the League Executive Committee and announced during the annual InVest48 Conference on April 5, 2023. Categories include the following.

Louise McCarren Herring Movement Advancement Award
This award recognizes excellence in philosophy and long-lasting movement contributions. Credit union system leaders that have made an indelible mark in advancing the Credit Union Movement in and beyond Ohio are eligible for nomination.


Robert Kloss Professional Achievement Award
This award recognizes a League-affiliated credit union Chief Executive Officer or senior executive who has demonstrated outstanding achievement, professionalism, integrity, dedication, and leadership in their credit union over a span of five years. 


Claude Clarke Advocacy Impact Award
This award recognizes the leadership of a League-affiliated credit union employee or volunteer for exceptional belief, dedication, and impact with regard to continued advocacy on behalf of the Credit Union Movement.


State-Level Credit Union Submissions
The same submission instructions provided by CUNA apply to the credit union award designations listed above for state-level consideration (these include Dora Maxwell, Louise Herring, and Desjardins). Entries must be complete and meet specified criteria to be considered (see list of requirements). State-selected entries will move forward for national consideration. State-level recipients will receive award presentations at their credit union, with those selected nationally to be presented at the upcoming CUNA Government Affairs Conference. Entries are due June 30, 2023, and will be announced at the end of August. 


2023 CUNA Award Submissions

To learn more about the CUNA Awards and read about last year's winners, visit the Awards Homepage

Submission Instructions
Clicking on the designated link below will allow you to login or create an account for the submission portal. (Your current cuna.org account does not transfer to this site.) You may save your work and continue to edit your application as often as needed, but you must complete and submit the application by the deadline.

Submission Links

             Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award

             Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award

             Desjardins Financial Education Awards

Returning entrants can click here to review their current submissions.